Anambra Elections: APGA Wins 24 Of 30 Assembly Seats…..As Uba, Ngige, Speaker Loss State Constituencies, Obi Wins


The All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA has won 24 of the 30 seats in the Anambra State House of Assembly.
The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP won six of the seats, leaving the All Progressives Congress, APC and other political parties in the state without any seat.
The duo of the minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige and the Senator representing Anambra South Zone and State Chairman President Buhari campaign council, Senator Andy Uba failed to win any seat for the APC.
Senator Dr. Ngige and Senator Uba lost their state constituencies to candidates of the APGA.
The Speaker of Anambra State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Rita Maduagwu who is of APGA however in a surprise twist failed to win back her seat as she was defeated by the candidate of the PDP.
Rt. Hon. Maduagwu had earlier lost the ticket of the party during the APGA primary elections, but the leaders of the party had allegedly foisted her on the people as the candidate.
Meanwhile, the Vice Presidential candidate of the PDP and the former Governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi delivered his state constituency to his party as Hon. Ebele Ejiofor; thale party’s candidate was said to have been declared winner of the Anaocha 1 state constituency.
PDP also added Ogbaru I, Ogbaru II, Ekwusigo, Onitsha North 1 and Nnewi South 11 state constituencies to their seats, while all the others were won by the APGA.
Prior to the election, rumour had gone round that PDP was angling to win greater number of seats, in the hope to use the state assembly members to remove Governor Willie Obiano who was widely acknowledged to have worked against the party during the presidential election.
This had forced Governor Obiano to double strength, leading to his holding a mega rally to urge for votes for candidates of the APGA, insisting that anything to the contrary would breed trouble in the state. 
Meanwhile, some of the law makers who were re-elected include Hon. Obinna Emenaka of Anambra East, Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu of Dunukofia, Hon. Beverley Nkemdiche of Onitsha South One constituency, and Hon. Edward Ibuzo of Onitsha North Two constituency.
Some second time lawmakers also include Hon. Uchenna Okafor of Ayamelum constituency, Hon. Paschal Agbodike of Ihiala Two and Hon. Chuka Ezenwunne of Idemili South constituency.

News Reporter
Blank NEWS Online founding Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Albert Eruorhe Ograka, is a Graduate of Mass Communication. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism (IIJ).

Your Comment