Blank NEWS Online (NIGERIA) –From Sunny DAVIDS:

AHEAD of Saturday’s Governorship election in Anambra State, candidates contesting in the exercise have signed a peace accord committed to a peaceful democratic process.

Our correspondent reports that the peace accord was organised by the National Peace Committee (NPC) chaired by former Military Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar.

The ceremony which took place on Thursday in Awka, the State Capital, saw the candidates sign the peace agreement for a free, fair and credible election on Saturday.

Also present at the event include the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, Catholic Bishop of Sokoto Diocese, Rev. Fr. Mathew Kukah, party Chairman, and the State Police Commissioner.

By signing the peace agreement, the candidates are expected to take proactive steps “towards ensuring a conducive environment for the conduct of a credible electoral process.

Also, they are expected to “fully abide by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, to respect the rules and regulations as laid down in the Legal Framework for Elections in Nigeria, and to adhere to best international standards.”

The candidates are trusted to “respect that the results can only be announced by INEC, and to accept the outcome of the vote, as long as it is adjudged to be free, fair and credible, devoid of intimidation and conducted in accordance with the provisions of the law.”

Some of the candidates that signed the peace accord include Valentine Ozigbo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Chukwuma Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA); Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) and Okonkwo Francis of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Others are Dr. Godwin Maduka of the Accord Party (AP), Etiaba Chukwuogo of the Action Alliance (AA), Nwankwo Chidozie of the African Action Congress (AAC), Onyejegbu Okwudili of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Ohajimkpo Emeka of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, Ezenwafor Victor of the National Rescue Movement (NRM), Nnamdi Nwawuo of the People’s Redemption Party (PRP), and Uzo Godwin of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

  • Read & Advertise on Blank NEWS Online Always!!!

Also LIKE & Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc…

News Reporter
Blank NEWS Online founding Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Albert Eruorhe Ograka, is a Graduate of Mass Communication. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism (IIJ).

Your Comment