The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the deregistration of 28 political parties for failure to meet up with extant laws establishing their continued existence.
INEC, in a statement signed by the Commission’s Secretary, Abdulahi Kaugama, has said that its action was taken in exercise of INEC’s powers based on the I999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

The list of affected political parties which was made available to Blank NEWS Online on Thursday by INEC include:

1.  Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)

2.  African Liberation Party (ALP)

3.  Action Party of Nigeria (APN)

4.  African Political System (APS)

5.  Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)

6.  Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)

7.  Community Party of Nigeria (CPN)

8.  Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA)

9.  Freedom Party of Nigeria (FPN)

10. Hope Democratic Party (HDP)

11. Justice Party (JP)

12. Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria (LDPN)

13. Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ)

14. Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD)

15. Nigeria Advanced Party (NAP)

16. New Democrats (ND)

17. National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP)

18. National Movement of Progressive Party (NMPP

19. National Reformation Party (NRP)

20. National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP

21. Progressive Action Congress (PAC)

22. Peoples Mandate Party (PMP)

23. Peoples Progressive Party (PPP)

24. People’s Salvation Party (PSP)

25. Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN)

26. United National Party for Development (UNPD)

27. United Nigeria Peoples Party (UNPP)

28. Fresh Democratic Party

News Reporter
Blank NEWS Online founding Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Albert Eruorhe Ograka, is a Graduate of Mass Communication. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism (IIJ).

Your Comment