War on Vandalism: 14 Suspects Vandals, Scavengers Arrested by NSCDC in Abuja

Fourteen suspects vandals and scavengers have been arrested by operatives of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) in the ongoing clampdown on vandals of street and traffic lights, including manhole covers within the Federal Capital Territory (Abuja).

According to a statement on Thursday signed by the spokesperson of the FCT Command of the Corps, Comfort Okomanyi, the suspects were picked up by NSCDC’s men on routine night patrol at different locations in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) where they were also constituting nuisance under bridges and around critical installations at odd hours without any clearly defined purpose or destination.

She said while parading the suspects at the Command Headquarters, the FCT Commandant, Odumosu Olusola re-emphasized his readiness to hunt down anyone with the aim of making the federal capital a den of miscreants.

Odumosu vowed to be resolute in combating crime and criminalities in the FCT. He called on residents to remain vigilant and be supportive of the efforts of the NSCDC FCT Command in ensuring a safe, peaceful and pleasant place for all to live.

He solicited the cooperation of the public in reporting suspicious activities and people of questionable characters in their environment.

He said: @Let it be known to criminals, scavengers and vandals in the city centre and the suburbs of FCT that their days are numbered and we are coming for you.

“FCT will be too hot for you to stay, therefore, I advise you to relocate or face the wrath of the law.”

Odumosu reiterated that FCT Command remains fully committed to upholding its duty of curbing vandalism and protecting lives and property through collective efforts with sister agencies towards achieving a safer and more secured FCT.

The suspects are: Muhammed Isa, ‘M’, 18, Elvis Obingwa, ‘M’, 45, Eze Godwin, ‘M’, 39, Basiru Abubakar, ‘M’, 23, Abdallah Zakariya, ‘M’, 40, Hungano Dimas ‘M’ 27, Aliyu Mohammed ‘M’ 52, Basiru Abdullah ‘M’ 20, Kabiru Usenu ‘ M’ 19,
Godwin Isaac ‘M’ 24, Sunday Yusuf, ‘M’, 28, Lawal Badiru ‘M’ 25,
Yusuf Nuts ‘M’ 18, and
Hamsa Ibrahim, ‘ M’ 20.

The arrested suspects, according to the statement, have been throughly interrogated and profiled. They will be handed over to the Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB) for further prosecution.

News Reporter
Blank NEWS Online founding Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Albert Eruorhe Ograka, is a Graduate of Mass Communication. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism (IIJ).

Your Comment