Yobe Assembly Elects Speaker, Deputy

From Mike Sogbola-Maiduguri:

Yobe State House of Assembly on Monday elected the Speaker and Deputy Speaker Speaker and for it’s Seventh Assembly.

Hon. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa, representing Nguru II constituency and Hon Auwalu Isa Bello of Mamudo constituency were both elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

The two were elected unopposed by 24 members of the chamber.

The Clerk of the House, Ishaku Mohammed, had conducted a roll call to ensure the presence of all the 24 members in the house chamber before the election began.

The Clerk ordered for the commencement of the process after the roll call, and being assured that the quorum had been formed.

Hon. Buba Kalallawa, representing Damaturu constituency moved the motion for the nomination of Hon. Ahmed Lawan Mirwa as Speaker, which was seconded by the member representing Fika, Hon Ishaku Audu.

The clerk, subsequently announced for further nomination which was not made and had to declared Mirwa as duly elected Speaker of the House.

The motion for the nomination of Auwal Isa Bello, was moved by Hon Bulama Bukar, representing Gujba constituency, and was seconded by Ahmed Musa Dumbulwa of Yunusari constituency.

As in the case of the Speaker, there was no further nomination for the Deputy, and Bello was declared elected.

Both the speaker and his deputy accepted the nomination and promised to work in the interest of the party and the good people of Yobe state.

The oath was subsequently administered on them and the Seventh Assembly was fully inaugurated.

News Reporter
Blank NEWS Online founding Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Albert Eruorhe Ograka, is a Graduate of Mass Communication. He also holds a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism (IIJ).

Your Comment